Old doors and their usefulness

As I sit here sipping a cup of piping hot Russian Spice tea (the name sucked me in today – usually it’s coffee for me any moment of the week), I can’t help thinking about my last blog post (July!) and how much crazy has happened since then. What a whirlwind few years this adventure in PA has been! Life seems to constantly be changing in some new way every few months, leaving Nate and I with just enough breathing room to take out the garbage and throw in a load of laundry every week. A little bit of an exaggeration, but we have been constantly busy since we made the move to Pennsylvania three and a half years ago (and um, can we talk about how it’s been 3.5 years already?!).

Life might start to slow down a bit, though (we hope!). With quite a few adulting items checked off of our list now it has to slow down – right? I’m being overly optimistic, I’m sure, but I’m envisioning a slow winter of hot drinks, kittens, lesson planning, and books. And don’t any of you squash down that dream with reminders about bills and home repairs and shoveling!

Anyhow.

Along with a busy six months, Nate and I have squeezed a few projects in that are currently in various stages of completion. We’ve finished a couple, but in the spirit of the BEST TIME OF THE YEAR (yay Christmas!) I wanted to share this quick and fun project I finished up yesterday afternoon while humming Christmasy music:

dsc_0209

20161204_142154-2

An old cupboard door, a little chalkboard paint, a couple chalkboard markers and I have a new Christmas decoration! Or anytime decoration – Yay! Never pass up an old door if it is offered to you. You can do so many things with them! (Or if you don’t have a use for it you can just hand it on over to me – I’ll buy you a coffee and shower you with conversation). Chalkboard markers, by the way, are my favorite. Easy to use, easy to clean up, no dust. The. Best.

Much Love!

Leave a Reply

