Sweet Little Coffee Station: In Progress

Maybe starting with painting walls is a more traditional approach to moving into a new home, but I’m not sorry we started with this guy –  a $5.00 community yard sale find re-purposed into a coffee/tea station to hold all of my hot drinks! Turns out, our bargain fix-me-up dresser looked half decent once it was sanded. Nate was so sweet and took care of that part for me (bleh, sawdust). Then I took a risk (always scary) and stained the top – I got lucky this time and just love how it turned out. A little bit rustic, a little bit nice.

And the yellow? Besides being my favorite color, I wanted something cheery for my otherwise gray kitchen. I think I took home almost every yellow paint chip Home Depot had. It had to be just right! Let me tell you, there are a lot of hideous yellow paint chips. I’ll be honest, after the first couple of coats I started to worry I chose one of those hideous paint chips – should I have gone with a light/neutral color after all?? Was a color named ‘sunny side up’ better matched to a toddler’s primary color play room???

DSC_0191

I’ve decided I love it. The half finished product is in my kitchen, and I think the color is just perfect.

After the sanding, Nate and I took a couple trips to Home Depot and Lowe’s to buy all sorts of goodies – a nail gun and the wrong size nails (we’re rookies, we make rookie mistakes!), boards for doors, wire mesh, a manual miter saw – lots of goodies. It’s slow going, but we’re making progress a little at a time. Being snowed in today thanks to a wacky blizzard certainly helped find us some time!

DSC_0218

So here’s the before and ‘in progress’! Getting there, a smidge at a time!

FurnitureCollage

I just can’t wait to get those doors on!

Leave a Reply

