Oh, what to do with a window –

Old, vintage window frames have endless uses, especially when multiple panes are involved. Chalkboards, individual pictures, giant portraits, you name it and it’s been done. Literally, endless possibilities. I LOVE old window frames. I’d run out of wall space before I could stop finding uses for them (if you have any you’d like to wash your hands of, feel free to ship them my way).

Months and months ago, aka in January, I got a hold of a window frame with the original glass still in tact – win! It wasย so hard trying to decide what to do with it. Pinterest is so unhelpful that way. You have an idea in your head, check it out on Pinterest to see what’s been done already, and BAM. Six million more ideas that are slight to extreme variations of what you had in mind. How. do. you. choose.

Before I had to actually make any decisions (which I hate to do. Why can’t I just have all of the options for every decision I need to make in life??), the window needed a little cleaning up. I never took a picture of the grimy beginning, but just imagine what a window might look like if it had been sitting in a dirty attic for half a century or so. Yick. Here’s the Windex-ed, wiped down version:

DSCN3257

I also did a tiny bit of sanding to smooth out rough places.

DSCN3258

Then, paint time! I know I’ve mentioned before that Home Depot has the best paint samples ever. Yes, yes, yes. Although, honestly, I only choose Home Depot over Lowe’s for samples because Home Depot’s sample paint container is sturdier than the one you get at Lowe’s. And if I’m stacking and storing these guys, you better believe I want the container that won’t break on me.

For this project, I chose the Behr flat antique tin. There was so much left I ended up using it to paint another frame the same color! Bingo.

DSCN3260

Painting time! If you’re feeling inspired with a window of your own, don’t forget to mask the glass if you don’t need to remove it. I ended up having to remove all of the window panes to re-putty everything, so my mask-job ended up being unnecessary. Oh well, better safe than sorry!

DSCN3261

Here is the entire frame painted before I removed the panes. Best color ever. Especially since gray seems to be my go-to color for everything in life.

DSCN3264

Like I mentioned, I ended up having to re-putty the entire window. As I was painting, the putty started chipping off and cracking. I figured I should put new window putty on just to be sure the panes would stay secure. I carefully took out each pane and removed the points that hold the window in place. And when I was putting new points in to secure my glass (which I got to clean really, really well thanks to my having to take them out)…. crack. And again. TWO broken pieces of glass. No craft project has made me want to cry so badly. All that work to save the old, slightly blue-tinted glass with tiny bubbles in it. The window was most likely one of the originals from the house I got it from, meaning the glass could have been over one hundred years old. I think I was entitled a good cry.

That was the very beginning of January. After I broke the glass, I waited over half a year to try to match the glass with other old window frames in that attic. It would be too obvious a difference to use new glass with the old, blue-tinted glass, so I couldn’t just run to a hardware store and have them cut new pieces for me. Thankfully, I did end up finding two (almost) matching pieces in that attic. Patience pays off!

After installing the remaining two panes, I still needed to re-do the putty around the edges of the glass. I am not even going to attempt to explain how to putty a window. Please go to YouTube and practice more than I did. Theย only reason I even uploaded the picture below is to show you the difference between ‘just going for it’ and practicing a bit. I think if you look at the picture for two seconds you’ll have an idea of what I’m talking about…

DSCN3684

After that, all that was left was adding the picture! I orderedย a poster-sized wedding photo off of Snapfish to fit behind the frame. I cut the picture to fit (it was a bit long) and attached a piece of matte board to hold the picture flush against the window.

DSCN3689 DSCN3690DSCN3707 DSCN3710

Eek!! SO in love with this!!!

2 thoughts on “Oh, what to do with a window –

Leave a Reply

