The Big Apple Weekend

As many of you probably already know, Nate and I got to spend Valentine’s Day in the giant metropolis a few hours north of our little metropolis. Or large town with city-esque features (aka coffee shops, one way streets, and parking garages), however you like to refer to Lancaster City.

We left our little city behind Friday evening and took a three hour train ride up to Penn Station, our final stop for our weekend destination. I love trains. When I traveled to the UK with my sister and dear friend, I learned that trains and tubes are the transportation ‘vehicle’ of choice over the ocean. And I loved it. High-speed trains that fly past the sluggish cars on on the highways, cramped little sleeper trains that serve you cheese crackers in the first class dining cars if you ask nicely, subways that get you from Point A to Point B in less time that anything else ever could, you name it and I loved it. I’m sure the people I know have heard one too many times from me that we need to rethink how we travel around over here and just take the stinking train. I know I would.

So, the train ride dumped us out at Penn Station, just a few short blocks away from our hotel. Or rather, Jason’s hotel, because we were actually spending the weekend in the Big Apple as a favor to Jason’s mother, not because we wanted a romantic, but wildly expensive, Valentine’s Day. I won’t share Mrs. G’s reasons behind our all-expense paid weekend, but whatever those reasons, I certainly wasn’t about to pass up a free trip to NYC! There wasn’t much excitement for us Friday night, beyond an unstable man in the Chinese restaurant threatening the air and stomping around outside, shaking his fist at passing cabs.

Saturday morning was cloudy and frigid, but thanks to my years in the Buffalo tundra, you could say I almost couldn’t feel the bitter temperatures. Not that any amount of cold would have stopped me from wandering around a city I have never been to. And yes, for those of you who are thinking, but isn’t she from New York? Yes, I am. But Buffalo is an eight-hour stint from NYC by the I-90, an hour longer than driving to D.C. and four times the distance to Toronto.

So, it being my first trip to New York, I absolutely wanted to start my day off with a trip to Times Square. We were only a ten minute walk away, after all. Why not start there?

DSCN3305

Don’t let those smiling faces fool you – it was terribly cold.

Rockefeller Plaza, the Empire State Building, Central Park – all on my list of things I wanted to see. We wandered around most of the day, typing locations into our phones to see how far it would be to walk to them.

DSCN3309 DSCN3311 DSCN3319

We ducked into stores, walked through the library, accidentally (and wonderfully) found Tiffany’s, and spent the day enjoying each other’s company. It was so nice to just spend the day together, not worrying about what work needs to be done for tomorrow, what planning or prepping needs to happen, or how exhausted I am at the end of each day.

Our impromptu Valentine’s trip ended with dinner in Times Square and a walk back through the snow.

DSCN3323

Another one to check off the bucket list.

Until next time! And maybe – if I can get a piece of glass to replace the one I shattered – I’ll be able to show you the project to end all projects I’ve been working on!

Leave a Reply

