Afternoon Sunshine

Have I mentioned I love, love, love our new apartment? Almost all of our windows face west, so the afternoon sun (when it’s out!) is abundant. It just begs you to take a nap on a chilly autumn Sunday afternoon. Nate and I have been slowly turning the place into a home. Right now, boxes and garbage are overflowing from most of the rooms, but we managed to clean up the living room today so I could share a piece of our adorable apartment with you all!

DSCN3140

A friend with a truck (the most useful kind of friend when you are moving-thanks a million again Pete!) helped us pick up our new couch yesterday and lug it up to the second story. It is the coziest couch ever. We can’t wait to have friends and family over… and have a place for them to sit! The factory pieces Nate illustrated for his senior art show at Houghton fit perfectly in the space. We picked up a few old wooden window frames for free on the side of the road the other night that will also probably end up in here!

I’m so excited to have a cozy room to come home to at the end of a long day. Or a short day, or any day.

DSCN3133

And with a new apartment comes a new reason to create! I saw something very similar to this on Pinterest ages ago and stumbled across it again a week or two back. Now that I actually have a little space to decorate with a color scheme, I feel like I can actually put some crafty things together that compliment a room. Our living room color(s)? Blues and teals! I saw a house for sale online over the summer with bold, teal walls and fell in love with the idea. So, I’m copying! The best part is, with a gray couch I can always switch to my beloved mustard yellow when I get tired of the blue!

To summarize: we are loving living right in the city, we are loving our new second story home, and we can’t wait to share it with all of you!

Until next time, much love!

3 thoughts on “Afternoon Sunshine

Leave a Reply

