The Clock is Ticking

I can feel the pressure of the school year starting to weigh on me. There is so much to do, and just over a week left before we all need to be ready. I also feel the pressure of needing to enjoy whatever moments I have left of my summer. So, after almost three hours of work at the library, I can say it’s time to take a deserved break.

Even though there has been so much work to accomplish over the last week, there have been a lot of fun things to do as well. Nate and I have now been footgolfing (yes-it is real, look it up) twice, we watched two of our friends from college get married, we played mini-golf with another two friends from college, and we found some spare time to be creative. Nate, of course, being the artist has been illustrating adorable animals on his computer. I’m a little more inclined to the house-decorating, DIY side of things.

DSCN3010

This is my favorite creation from this summer, I think. I made a map two years ago of the United States to keep track of all of the places I have been around the US in my lifetime. That’s the best picture I had of it. A few weeks ago, I looked at it on the wall and thought, I can make this better. I tore the old cork off (you can see a few patches I still need to paint over), painstakingly cut out each state, and glued them back on over several days. Its new purpose? To keep track of the states Nate and I have visited as a couple. I’m still waiting on a few maps to come in the mail-free maps, by the way. You can request them on a state’s DOT website! I can’t wait to get them in the mail.

Card-making has also been keeping me busy. There always seems to be a need for a card, and what better way to use my paper scraps, be creative, and make something personal than by making a card myself? It also takes less time than a scrapbook page, and time is valuable at the moment.

DSCN3015DSCN3013

I will be honest, I snagged these ideas from some cards I pinned on Pinterest. Thank you strangers for your beautiful ideas! The wedding card is my absolute favorite. I will take credit for making the cards square, though-everything is cuter when it is a square!

I also have an additional little craft I’m finishing up right now. I love it to pieces already, and can’t wait to share! If you follow my Instagram, you might already have an idea what is coming. Hopefully I find the time to finish it out before the school year starts up again. Goodness knows I won’t have time then!

Hopefully next time I’ll be able to give you a sneak peek into what my office, school year, and teaching experience is going to look like for the next 10 months! Until then, much love.

 

 

One thought on “The Clock is Ticking

Leave a Reply

